Thursday, December 10, 2009

David's Bathroom Store

David’s Bathroom Store

Find a business web site from a different industry to David's that you believe is effective. Write down three or four bullet points explaining why you think that site is effective and the principles that David could apply to his own web site. Put a link to that site next to your name on the student page of the class wiki. http://www.uniqlo.com/us/

Uniqlo is a Japanese clothing store in Manhattan that has an extensive website however they do not have an online store. This website showcases Uniqlo’s products while encouraging consumers to buy in the store.

· Interactive Website

· They do not sell main products online but do sell “heattech items” this concept can be used by David in that he can sell small repairmen parts online that do not cost a lot to ship.

· Model the product in a way to encourage store visits

  1. Find a display ad for the kinds of products David sells. What site is that display ad on? (provide a clickable link as your answer) http://www.designingonline.com/
  2. Find a blog or forum or online user community related to David's business. How might David participate in that blog or forum or community in a way that helps his business? http://allaboutbathroomrenovation.com/guide/plumbers-putty/ David may find useful information to relate to the everyday problems that occur with bathroom renovations. This will then allow him to relate to and assist his customers better He can also advertise on these blogs/forums.
  3. Write down some search terms that customers might use when looking for the kinds of products David sells. Type them into a search engine and see which sites are listed highest (do not include sponsored search results). Put links to the top three sites in your answer. Why do you think they were listed highest?

“Bathroom Tiles” typed into Google:

1. http://www.abathroomguide.com/bathroom-tile/ This site offers a variety of information for the customer including an assortment of tile, top 10 lists, design styles and pictures. Customers or interested renovators can get all the information they may need from this one website.

2. http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/photos/0,,1586307,00.html This site has an abundance of information for renovators as well as an interactive option to post comments and ask questions.

3. http://www.hgtv.com/bathrooms/index.html This is listed because it is a site from a well known TV channel. People not only can get renovation ideas from this site but also from TV.

  1. Search advertising:
    1. Use the Google keyword tool to find the relevant keywords that are searched most frequently. What are they? How many times do Google users search for these terms in an average month? “Bathroom Renovation”: 40,500 with the highest month being February. Bathroom design, 246,000 and bathroom remodeling 201,000 are searched most frequently.
    2. Use the Google Traffic Estimator to estimate the cost per day of advertising using your proposed keywords. What is that cost? (copy and paste your results into the body of your blog) $9-$20/day.
  2. If 1% of people who click on his ad made a purchase, what is David's customer acquisition cost from search advertising? $1.38x 1/.01= $138.
  3. David's average sale value is $4000. His gross margin is 50%. Does it make sense for David to do search advertising using the keywords you proposed? 4000*.5 = $2,000. It makes perfect sense for David to do search advertising using the keywords bathroom renovation because he covers his customer acquisition cost at $138.00 with and average sale value profit of $2,000. If this was my business I would be very pleased with my customer acquisition cost through this type of advertising.
  4. Investigate social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter. How might David use those sites in his marketing campaign? Using Facebook would be a good networking site to meet potential customers and advertise on one of the most widely used social media sites. This free site would give David’s company an advantage because not all businesses advertise on Facebook or Twitter. David can also check Google analytics to monitor whether the route of his Ad campaign is working with Facebook and Twitter.

Internet and Business Home Work

IP ADDRESS - 69.121.47.195
Hostname - 00l-45792fc3.dyn.optonline.net
My host is located in Port Chester NY and I am currently in my apartment in Port Chester.

Look at Visitors:
  1. How many visits did the site receive in this period? 1,261 visits.
  2. Of the cities from which people visited the site, which one is furthest from SUNY Purchase? Auckland New Zealand is the furthest City.
  3. Which browser was least used by site visitors in this period? Netfront.
  4. Look at Traffic Sources. Which keywords accounted for the most visits in this period? Internet Business wiki.
  5. Look at Content. Which page on the site was most visited in this period? How many visits did it receive? Outline and Learning Outcomes received 752 views.
  6. Look at Goals. Note that I set up the goal to be a visit to the Assignments page. I also assigned a value of $10 to the goal.
    1. What was the average conversion rate over this period? 11.50%
    2. Click on Goal Value. If I received $10 for every person who visited the Assignments page in November 2009, how much would I have made? 10*145 = $1,450.00
    3. Click on Funnel Visualization. What percent of visitors visited the home page and then visited the Assignments page? 10%